Under Kentucky law, anytime an individual takes an item or items that do not belong to him or her without permission, it is considered a theft and punishable by law.
If the value of the item or items that were stolen is less than $500, the offense is charged as a misdemeanor. If the item or items that were stolen had a value greater than $500, the crime is then considered a felony. In order to avoid fines, criminal charges, and even jail time, it is crucial that you enlist the help of an attorney to face your theft charges.
In the state of Kentucky, shoplifting and petit theft cases are taken very seriously. Our attorneys will work to ensure that you understand your rights and where you stand in the fight against your charges.
Give us a call to get started building your case against petit theft or shoplifting charges.